State of the Blog 2024

Upcoming Reviews

I’m very excited to announce the next Anime Impressions review featuring Fantasy Bishoujo Juniku Ojisan to (Life with an Ordinary Guy who Reincarnated into a Total Fantasy Knockout) is up now for subscribers of my Patreon and should be available publicly on January 16th. I know it’s been a long time coming, but apparently the most popular vote on the Patreon Anime of Winter 2022 poll turned out to be a bit more of a complex show than I expected. As a result, I had to take a more top down view of the series instead of digging into the nitty gritty of it’s many themes. Otherwise the blog wouldn’t be “brief review of anime that strike my fancy” after 10,000+ words exploring gender roles and LGBTQA+ rights in Japan. Maybe someday I’ll have the attention span to do all that work.

Our next review will be Leadale no Daichi nite (In the Land of Leadale) followed by Gensou Sangokushi: Tengen Reishinki (Fantasia Sango: Realm of Legends). Leadale sounds like a nice cozy watch comparable to Freren, where an Isekai’d hero returns to the realm to find it a very different place. Gensou should be interesting, hopefully not in a bad way, in that it’s based on a mobile game.

We will have another vote focusing on Spring 2022’s lesser known shows. I’ve written about a few popular anime in the past, but now I kind of want to take a look at anime below a certain view count on My Anime List. As usual, Patreon subscribers will be the key voters in picking three more shows and will be able to see the reviews before they go public. Hopefully, my experiences recorded here will shine a light on good shows that may have been overshadowed by other popular series. It might also serve to warn people of mediocre or bad shows.

Paid Content

Paid content will mostly stay on Patreon until it’s released to the public here on WordPress after aproximately 1-2 weeks. I am contemplating a newsletter or series of short stories for WordPress Subscribers. However, I feel that would require a larger reader base, and thus a larger possible Subscriber base, to really justify charging people for content.

New Editor

And finally, I’m happy to anounce I have found an editor for the blog: Rickie Paszek. They’ve already edited the newest Anime Impressions review and have been paid that work. Rickie has a background in writing and has been pleasant to work with in real life as well as online. I’m hoping Rickie can take a look at any short stories I manage to finish as well.

That’s all for now!

About romeomoon

I graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison with an Associates of Science and Art and a Bachelors of Science and Art. I'm the creative lead of the Lounge L33ts podcast, have been a regular guest on An Unearthly Podcast and Generation Cyberpunk Podcast, write anime reviews and short stories, and create artwork in both digital and physical media. I am also an avid player of Massive Multiplayer Online Games and live stream various MMORPGs and stream content on my Twitch channel.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment