An Hour of WoW a Day

Three years ago, I embarked on a little project to help get into the habit of live streaming video game footage on a regular basis. Featuring both solo play as well as teaming with friends, I would stream an hour of World of Warcraft a day.

Why WoW? My friends all played almost exclusively on City of Heroes and they all seemed to hate WoW. Add in a lot of the general negativity towards the game and a lack of knowledge about the franchise in general, and I wound up passing up WoW for other games. With CoH gone, it was WoW’s time to step up and snag me as a fan and give me a chance to find a new MMO home.

The biggest obstacle, outside of hardware and/or software failure, was my varying schedule at my day job. It soon became a very real problem as I struggled to find time to even stream one hour of game time on at a regular pace. I invited Matt Winchell on to once again give the game another try in an effort to make the stream a little more interesting. Since Matt was an unpaid player, the max level on all his characters was twenty. We rolled a couple of Forsaken and began making our way through Tirisfal and succeeded in at least reaching that level cap.

About six months later, I returned to the concept with “The Rebirth of WoW” series, which featured Matt and myself grinding levels on the Rebirth private vanilla server. This only lasted a few episodes before we got bored and moved on to other things.

Now we’ve started up the daily series again on the retail servers. So far, we’ve been able to keep churning out episodes and it’s my goal to keep going until this year’s Geek.Kon where Matt and I will be away on staff. I also plan on pre-recording episodes to publish during the con.

You can catch up with the original series as well as the continuation on my Youtube channel here:

 

 

About romeomoon

I graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison with an Associates of Science and Art and a Bachelors of Science and Art. I'm the creative lead of the Lounge L33ts podcast, a regular guest on An Unearthly Podcast, write anime reviews and short stories, and create artwork in both digital and traditional media. I am a full time staffer for the Geek.Kon convention in Madison, WI. I am also an avid player of Massive Multiplayer Online Games and live stream various MMORPGs.
This entry was posted in Video Games, World of Warcraft and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

