Game Controller Layout for The Secret World

Or:

“Gamepadding Through The Secret World Redux”

I’m continuing to refine the layout for my game controller for The Secret World. As you know from my previous post:

https://romeomoon.wordpress.com/2012/08/22/gamepadding-through-the-secret-world/

I use a third party software known as http://xpadder.com/

in order to use a gamepad for playing Funcom’s The Secret World (as well as other games). Here is what I’ve changed up since I first started using this program:

Set 1 Original

GamepadSet1

Set 1 Redux

Primary Commands

Primary commands and actions

 The biggest, most useful, and most obvious change I’ve made is assigning “U” to the primary button I use on the d-pad. “U” always seems to be used to pick up or activate objects in the environment, therefore it’s a very good idea to make it an active button. Before I managed to do this, I would stupidly try to use the mouse controls in Set 3 to try to guide the cursor manually over an object. As you can imagine, this really slowed me down and even managed to get me killed 0n a few occasions.

Some other changes involve bringing “Sprint” over from Set 2 to Set 1. Also, I’ll no longer be accidentally hitting “Auto-run” and instead, will be accidentally “Auto-looting.” Oh darn… 😉 “Map” and “Esc” have also been switched according to priority.

And now on to the stuff with a lower chance of being used:

Set 2 Original

Secondary Commands

Secondary Commands

Set 2 Redux

Secondary Commands

Secondary commands and actions

Here I’ve gone and put “Inventory” and “Assembly” next to each other in the order I use them. I’ve also moved the “Auto-run” to this set, thus getting rid the annoying death-by-auto-run stuff. I usually like to walk through safe zones so I moved “Run/Walk” to the bottom of the d-pad.

And finally:

Set 3 Original

Mouse Commands

Mouse Commands

Set 3 Redux

Mouse Commands

Mouse commands

Not much change here, except “Inventory” has been moved to Set 2 for easier access in conjunction with the “Assembly” window. If you didn’t know, this set is used exclusively to allow the mouse cursor to access other parts of the UI such as drop down menus.

There you have it, so far. I’ll keep you posted if I find any more substantially more efficient layouts.

About romeomoon

I graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison with an Associates of Science and Art and a Bachelors of Science and Art. I'm the creative lead of the Lounge L33ts podcast, have been a regular guest on An Unearthly Podcast and Generation Cyberpunk Podcast, write anime reviews and short stories, and create artwork in both digital and physical media. I am also an avid player of Massive Multiplayer Online Games and live stream various MMORPGs and stream content on my Twitch channel.
This entry was posted in Video Games and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment